Week in Review: 5/3/15 – 5/9/15

May 7, 2015

AFOSR Study Evaluates Trust in Autonomous Systems
A case study funded by the Air Force Research Laboratory’s (AFRL) basic research directorate, the Air Force Office of Scientific Research, has quickly transitioned to AFRL’s Human Performance Directorate (AFRL/RH), where researchers are now using it in the field to examine how pilots respond to a new form of flight autonomy.

May 6, 2015

New Antennas Developed at SD Mines are First to Use Phase-Changing Material to Alter Shapes, Frequencies
Two new antenna prototypes are the first to be developed using a special class of thin film material which allows them to alter their shape using temperature and radiate at varying frequencies within the popular GHz range. A single reconfigurable antenna could replace two or more traditional antennas, including those in cell phones, Wi-Fi and numerous military devices.

May 5, 2015

Research Highlight: The Force behind Nature’s Light
Marine biologist Michael Latz from Scripps Institution of Oceanography at UC San Diego has been studying bioluminescence for more than 30 years and is now zeroing in on the forces that flick the “on” switch for bioluminescencent flashes in single-celled algae known as dinoflagellates.

‘Microcombing’ Creates Stronger, More Conductive Carbon Nanotube Films
Researchers from North Carolina State University and China’s Suzhou Institute of Nano-Science and Nano-Biotics have developed an inexpensive technique called “microcombing” to align carbon nanotubes (CNTs), which can be used to create large, pure CNT films that are stronger than any previous such films. The technique also improves the electrical conductivity that makes these films attractive for use in electronic and aerospace applications.

May 4, 2015

Schonberg selected for 2015 Distinguished Scientist Award
Dr. William P. Schonberg, chair and professor of civil, architectural and environmental engineering at Missouri University of Science and Technology, has been selected as the recipient of the 2015 Distinguished Scientist Award from the Hypervelocity Impact Society. He was selected for his leadership, innovation, and technical excellence in hypervelocity research.